The Osun SWAN Sports Merit Awards selection committee has revealed the recipients of the 2018 Osun SWAN Sports Merit Awards.

The award committee followed a set of eligibility criteria which considers factors such as achievements and pedigree of the nominees.

A large number of nominations were received for the 2018 edition of the Osun SWAN Sports Merit Awards, but only 22 names were considered by the selection committee consisting of Sports Journalists, Experts, Presenters and sports administrators.

The award is conferred to those personalities who have rendered outstanding meritorious services to the development of sports in the country and beyond.

The event is billed to take place at a specially organised luncheon on Sunday the 10th of February 2019 at the prestigious Atlantis Civic Event Centre Osogbo by 12 noon.

According to a release signed by the Chairman Award Planning Committee, Olayinka Olawole, the 2018 Osun SWAN Sports Merit Awards will be presented in five categories namely.

* The Meritorious Gold Award of Excellence in Sports Development

* The Meritorious Gold Award of Excellence In Sports Administration..

* The Meritorious Gold Award of Excellence in Sports Innovations and Entrepreneurship.

* The Meritorious Gold Award of Excellence in Women Football Development.

* The Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Some of the recipients of this prestigious awards includes Dr. Amos Adamu, Dr. Bolaji Ojo Oba, Olumide Oyedeji, Bukola Olapade, Tunde Poopola, Adegboye Onigbinde, Segun Odegbami, Bayo Lalenge, Rasheed Balogun, Siji Olagunju, Prince Dotun Babayemi, Enitan Oshodi, Ayisat Yusuf Aromire, Hon. Bosun Oyintiloye, Dr. Tiamiyu Bello, Alhaji Nojeem Omolaja and a host of others will be celebrated on that day.

This year's awards will also have the Media Awards Categories where Sports Journalists in the State will be rewarded for their Hardwork all through the year. The categories are as follows.

* Best Sports Presenter (Yoruba) Television.

Best Sports presenter ( Yoruba) Radio

Best Sports Presenter (English) Television.

Best Sports Presenter (English) Radio.

Best Sports Journalist (Print).

Also this year's event will also have the player of the season award categories for the best player in the two state owned teams, Osun United FC and Osun Babes FC.

The evening promises to be a stylish and high profile affair and we welcome a host of personalities who have created a sporting pathway and contributed immensely to the growth of the nation through Sports and other means.

Notable personalities expected to grace the event includes the Royal father of the day, the Ooni of Ife Oba Enitan Adeyeye Ogunwusi (Royal Patron of the Osun SWAN), the Chairman of the day is the executive Governor of Osun State, Gboyega Oyetola, Deputy Governor of Osun State, Mr Gboyega Alabi and a host of others.

Author: Olayinka Olawole
Sports writer. I am a keen follower of the Nigerian game

Modzero Concept (Tribalsports) © 2019